Veggie Chili to get you ‘going’

I’m about to get really candid here. I’ve been going through some tummy issues for the past 3 weeks and have realized that I am completely backed up (I think you know what that means). My immediate thought was “How can I get rid of this feeling a.s.a.p.?”. If anyone else has been in my situation, you can understand the frustration. So this is a recipe but also a little lesson on how to get past this ‘blockage’. I’ve found many words for this without having to say the C word!

Let me just say this, don’t run to the pharmacy and buy all these pills & suppositories right away. I did, because I thought it would work faster, but that was not the case. I tried for two weeks using various storebought products that promised to relieve me of my misery and nothing changed. I found myself irritated, emotional and overall uncomfortable. So I finally gave in and decided to do what EVERYONE says to do–drink lots of water, add more fibre to your diet and drink prune juice. It took me one day of drinking copious amounts of water, chugging prune juice and eating this yummy veggie chilli and that night I was cured!

What you’ll need (but not limited to, this is chili, you can add whatever you want!):

  • 2 sweet potatoes, diced
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 red pepper, chopped
  • 1 yellow pepper, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 can red kidney beans
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 large can of diced tomatoes (no salt added is ideal)
  • cilantro
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper

First, dice the sweet potatoes, toss in olive oil & cayenne pepper and roast in the oven at 400 degrees F for 30 minutes.

In a large pot on medium/high, heat olive oil then add onions & peppers and cook for a few minutes. Then add garlic and cook for a few more minutes (until onions and peppers are softened).

Add chili powder & cinnamon and stir for a little. Then add both cans of beans (strained) and the whole can of diced tomatoes. Stir this around and bring to a boil then reduce to simmer and let this go at it for 30 minutes or longer!

When the sweet potatoes are done, add them to the chilli, stir in some chopped up cilantro and serve.

Note: This recipe has no meat or dairy because you’re not supposed to have either when you’re in that ‘situation’ — but, if you’ve got a clean bill of health and no allergies, I think some grated cheddar and sour cream would be damn good with this!

Have you ever been in a shitty situation? What helps you?

 

 

What do you think?

