Pesto Spaghettini with tomatoes, baby kale & fresh ricotta 

Pasta dishes are my jam. Maybe because they tend to be the easiest? Regardless, I’m always game for a new combination when it comes to putting a pasta dish together.   The other day I was craving something fresh & colourful and came across this delicious recipe–the photo on Epicurious made my mouth instantly salivate so I figured it would be a good call.

This recipe has a balance between the sweetness of the tomatoes and saltiness of the caper. It calls for the tomatoes to be soaked in red wine vinegar, oil and S&P in a bowl.

Note: It calls for cherry tomatoes (I used grape tomatoes) and caper berries (I used straight capers–more flavour and easier to find) and I also used Balsamic Vinegar rather than Red Wine Vinegar–just because.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

I have yet to make my own pesto (believe me, it’s on my to-do list) so I just used store bought Italissima, I love all of their products.

This one here.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Using the store bought pesto, and ingredients that don’t need to be pre-cooked make this recipe a quick one to whip up. It looks like you put way more effort into the dish that you actually did, which is also a big plus in my books.

SAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Adding the fresh ricotta and baby kale leaves give this dish a cool, refreshing flavour and crunch that I haven’t seen in a pasta recipe yet! So much good stuff in here you can’t help but scarf it down. I would love to try this again with olives, and lots of ’em.

Definitely give this one a try. Little effort, with a big reward.

Find the Fresh Tomato, Kale and Caper Berry Pasta recipe on Epicurious here.

What do you think?

