Chilli Lime Snapper & Yam Wedges w/Chipotle Aioli

I don’t cook fish very often but I’ve been wanting to incorporate it at least once a week just to change it up. I cam across a Chilli Lime batter recipe but it asked for quinoa flakes and after not being able to find them at two grocery stores I threw in that towel and decided to wing it.

I love to lightly batter my fish to add some flavour, especially to this Snapper as it’s a mild white fish (often used in fish tacos). Here’s what I used for the batter:

1/2 cup flour

zest of one lime

1 tbsp. chilli flakes

salt & pepper

SAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with a9 preset

I dipped the fish into some milk first and then gave it a good coating of the flour mixture, then into a hot pan they went. Cook on each side for about 2-3 minutes.

SAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with a9 preset

Before that, I cut a yam into thick wedges, doused them in olive oil and tossed with 1 tsp. ground cumin, chilli flakes and salt & pepper. Put those babies in a hot hot oven (425) and cooked them for about 30 mins until they almost looked burnt (we like them well done).

SAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with a9 preset

To make the Chipotle Aioli, I blended one can of Chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (all of it) in a food processor. Then all you have to do is mix it with mayo to your taste. Our ratio was probably 3 parts mayo to 1 part chipotle blend but you could always add more or less. But whoa, it’s like the best aioli you’ll ever have, especially with the crispy yam wedges. It was Bachelor night so I set myself up on my vintage teak tv tray (which I found for $5 a few months back) poured myself a glass of vino and dug in. I could have had 3 times more of the yam fries but I guess it was good that I didn’t. Definitely try this one. Enjoy! xx

SAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with a9 preset

What do you think?

