Sunday Dinner: Romantic

I’ve been really experimenting with new flavours and dishes lately so I felt the need to bring it back to the basics and cook a nice steak dinner for my boyfriend and myself. I’m a sucker for steak toppings and this Red Wine Mushroom sauce I found on Epicurious sounded like it had all the warm, comforting flavours I was craving.

This found this recipe under the ‘romantic dinners’ section on the Epicurious App (which is amazing by the way). I made a few modifications (we grilled the steaks rather than pan frying them) and I skipped the portobello mushrooms and squash. I also roasted the veggies in the oven rather than in the pan–I find that it’s less hassle this way and I wasn’t trying to juggle a million things. Simple garlic mashed potatoes were the last thing to add to the menu to make it a real meat and potatoes meal.

I lit some candles, poured us each a glass of cab and we had a romantic evening… of watching the Kardashians (I know we suck).

SAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with m6 presetSAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with m6 presetSAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with m6 presetSAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with m6 presetSAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with m6 preset

Click here for the Steak with Red Wine Mushroom Sauce recipe from Epicurious.com

 

One thought on “Sunday Dinner: Romantic

What do you think?

