Express fajitas with citrus guacamole

My favourite dish growing up was always fajitas. So much that my mom would actually make my whole family fajitas for Christmas dinner–we liked them THAT much. I always remember it being a huge production, from making the filling to cutting all the vegetables, grating the cheese, etc. I one day decided to cut out some of the fuss and make a meal with the same great taste but half the time. Here’s what I did:

  First, throw some red pepper and onions into a hot pan with a little olive oil and cook them until soft and nicely pan-fried.SAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with c8 presetNow, you HAVE to have guacamole (this is why you can cut out other ingredients such as lettuce & tomatoes). For my guac, I use two whole avocados, a bunch of fresh cilantro, finely chopped red onion, lime juice, orange juice, a little olive oil and salt and pepper to taste. SAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with c3 presetOnce the peppers and onions are cooked, throw some thinly sliced strips of chicken breasts into the pan and cook a few minutes on each side (they will still be cooking in the pan for a while after that).SAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with c8 presetThen, add the peppers and onions back into the same pan along with your taco seasoning (guilty pleasure–I use the store bought stuff) and bring to a boil and allow it to condense and become nice and saucy (sorry for the blurry picture but you get it!).SAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with c8 presetYou can keep the guacamole chunky like the first picture or whip it around with a fork to get a more creamy texture.SAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with c6 presetGrate some cheese and put out some sour cream, salsa & hot sauce along with your freshly made guac and build your own express fajitas. It’s the laziest meal ever but SO satisfying. I love it.fajSAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with c8 preset

One thought on “Express fajitas with citrus guacamole

What do you think?