Rainy day activity: Adult colouring books

Doesn’t ‘adult colouring books’ sound a little dirty? When I first heard of these I assumed it was going to be something x-rated. However, to my pleasant surprise, when I walked into Indigo and saw the questionable heading on a stack of well-merchandised books, below were exactly what I’ve always dreamed of.

I’m a doodler. My books in school were always covered with weird — and I can say this openly, ugly drawings. The problem was that I was actually not good at drawing but I enjoyed the act of it. I even tried to get my high school friend, Jessica, to teach me how to draw her doodles because hers were always so good but unfortunately I had no luck in that department AT ALL.

Colouring however, gives me the satisfaction of drawing and producing something that looks beautiful, which led me to search for something I could color that wasn’t the latest Disney movie.

SAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with e6 preset

Adult colouring or ‘Colour In’ books are actually considered therapeutic and I would tend to agree. I keep mine beside my laptop when I’m in thinking mode and it helps me to not be thinking about a million other things. I got this one at Indigo a few weeks ago and it was $9.99!

SAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with e6 preset

SAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with e6 preset

The designs are gorgeous and range from mildly intracate to extremely detailed.

SAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with e6 preset

I think I started with something a little on the easy side, probably for instant gratification, but I soon realized that these aren’t meant to be finished in an hour– they are meant to be built upon gradually, and I really like that about them!


Find Just Add Color: Dazzling Patters on Chapters.Indigo.ca here or shop the rest of their selection of adult coloring books.

2 thoughts on “Rainy day activity: Adult colouring books

What do you think?

