Pemberton: A true beauty of British Columbia

I recently took a trip to Pemberton, BC for a wedding over Labour Day long weekend (the wedding was so insanely good I will have to do a whole separate post!). I had been to the Valley of Pemberton last year for the annual Pemberton Music Festival, however, I was too busy camping in a field of drunkards and avid concert goers for 4 days to notice the true beauty that this place has to offer.

SAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with c9 preset

Just a 2.5 hour drive from North Vancouver, getting there is a wonder in itself. The scenic sea-to-sky highway lines the edge of the Howe Sound up to Squamish where you pass the infamous Chief rock formation.

Processed with VSCOcam with c8 preset

From there, you cruise through the mountains, past Whistler, and down into the valley surrounded by grandiose mountains.

SAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with c8 preset

The town itself is smaller than I would have originally thought. Wide streets with sidewalks full of young families, dog walkers and kids with skateboards — It has a warm and welcoming feeling with it’s charming locations and friendly locals.

SAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with c7 presetThere is a sense of familiarity for me as my dad grew up on a farm in Manitoba. When you drive out of the town and onto the side roads, you see old trucks and farm equipment stranded throughout.

SAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with c8 presetI stumbled across these beautiful horses during their afternoon grazing. I had seen a field of cattle with one white stallion the day prior but didn’t have my camera! I could look at these beauties all day. The hair of their long tails is so full and shiny it actually made me a tiny bit jealous.

SAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with c7 preset

SAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with c8 preset

The big farmhouses are dwarfed by the massive mountains just in their backyard and it seems to take you back in time. It also reminds me of the landscape in the movie classic ‘Legends of the Fall’— remember that movie with Brad Pitt and Anthony Hopkins? It is one of my all-time favourites to this day.

SAMSUNG CSC Processed with VSCOcam with x3 preset

The trip gave me a new perspective on a much simpler yet stunning life. I kept saying how much I would love to live there, but there is still that looming thought in the back of my head of the solidarity that would entail and if I would be able to handle it. But for the folks that are living their lives in Pemberton, I salute you. It is a true beauty.

One thought on “Pemberton: A true beauty of British Columbia

What do you think?

