Szechuan soba noodle salad with avocado & roast cashews

I just love the way this salad sounds first of all but the taste and flavour of this dish was off the charts!

rebar

My boyfriend got me the Rebar Modern Food cook book for my birthday last year (I don’t think he knew it was vegetarian haha). For those of you who don’t know, Rebar is an amazing restaurant in Victoria, BC known for careful, conscientious & nourishing cooking. At first, I was extremely intimidated due to the amount of different ingredients in each dish. I was more of a 4-5 ingredient kinda gal at the time and these dishes are like 10-12 ingredients. However, it was shockingly easy to make and tasted soooo good I can’t wait to try out another recipe! Shop the book here.

The recipe would have been perfect for me just the way it was, but my boyfriend HAS to have meat with every meal so I added chicken and marinaded it in soy sauce, honey, sesame oil, rice vinegar, sesame seeds and green onion (highly recommend). Also, can I add how amazing the Ikea plastic zip bags are? soba 6The colours in this dish give it a real ‘wow’ factor with red peppers, grated carrot, english cucmbers, shallots and avocado.soba 7What I love most, is that it is meant to be served cold. It’s a cool and crisp salad perfect for a hot summer day that is almost even better the next day after it’s been refrigerated. soba 3

Note: Read the directions on the noodle package. I overcooked mine a little but they still tasted amazing!

What do you think?

